Tuesday, March 21, 2006

sleep and snot

OK, so Mia's never been a good sleeper. She wakes up at night to nurse at least 2-3 times on a good night, and if she's teething or sick forget it. I can't even count. She'll basically nurse the whole night. But fine, that's the way it is, and I'll just keep complaining about it until she stops waking up at night.

And then there is also the issue of the bed time. Kids go to bed at 7 or 8 right? Not Miss Mia. The other night she was up until 11:30pm. She wasn't cranky or fussy, just playing and not sleeping. That was on Saturday. We usually get her to sleep around 10 on a normal night. Then last night she fell asleep in the car (holy crap! but that's a story for another entry) at 7:20pm. I was so scared she would think it was a nap and be awake all night, but no, she slept until 8am. She didn't even nurse that much. Amazing. I actually feel rested today.

We've just gotten over the worst of a round of colds; starting off with Mia, moving on to me, and Arun was only a day or so behind. It was a yucky snotty cold that had Mia projectile sneezing and us blowing our noses every 5 minutes. It had me knocked on my back. I was so tired and sore all over for 3 or 4 days. I know it's the same thing that Mia had, but she seemed fine during the day. She took even shorter naps, and nursed all night. Why didn't she get sleepy like we did? What is it about toddlers that keeps them going like nothing is wrong through the worst viruses?
She did make up for it by being especially cute while she was sick. She mimicked the things we said to her, like when she coughed she said, "'Kay?" as in Mommy asking if she was OK after she coughed. And after she sneezed she'd hold her nose up in the air until I wiped it and then she'd say, "better." as in 'that's better' after wiping her nose.

Even her snot is cute.

Sunday, March 05, 2006

the signs are on the way out

We realized today that Mia is dropping signs since her language has gotten more understandable. She made up a sign for 'go' a long time ago - waving her hand up and down with her fingers together, usually with the word 'dee-do' which means upstairs, downstairs or outside. Arun noticed tonight that we haven't seen that sign in weeks. She just says dee-do.

She doesn't use many signs anymore unless I don't get what she is saying. Example - she'll say 'ba' (ball) and if I don't at least acknowledge that is what she is saying, she'll say it and use the sign with a come-on-mom look on her face.

Funny thing about her language - she still uses the animal sounds to identify the animals and not their names. Most are still moo or baa or ca-doo-doo (cock-a-doodle-doo). My favorite animal name right now is 'mingo' for flamingo. I kinda hope she never learns the other way to say that one.